Etoile de Bessèges 2012

From Wednesday 1 to Sunday, February 5, 2012 in France, Étoile de Bessèges.


The first edition of the cycle race was held in 1971.Frenchman Jean-Luc Molineris won that year. He also won the Second Edition. At that time, it was still a one-day events. Since 1974 the star Bessèges is a stage race.

Preparation Course

The star of Bessèges is traditionally one of the first races in the European cycling season. Earlier in the game was often a strong field. Nowadays professional fights, but in January and February was organized also in countries like Qatar and Oman, where it’s usually pleasant at this time of year than in France. That is why many top riders now is no longer the star Besseges, but for which the preparatory games in warmer latitudes.

Dutch successes

In the eighties and nineties, Dutch is often very successful in this stage race. Jan Raas won the Star of Besseges 1981, Cees Priem (1982), Bert Oosterbosch 1983, Adri van der Poel 1988, Frans Maassen 1990, Ad Wijnands 1991 and Jean-Paul van Poppel in 1994.

Participants in 2012

In 2012 makes two Dutch teams participated in Star Besseges: Vacansoleil-DCM and 1t4i. Here is a list of all participating teams:

  • World Tour: Ag2r-La Mondiale, FDJ-Bigmat and Vacansoleil-DCM
  • Procontinentaal: 1t4i, Landbouwkrediet, Accent Jobs-Willems, Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator veranda’s, Team type 1-Sanofi, Cofidis, Europcar, Bretagne-Schuller and Saur-Sojasun
  • Continental: An Post-Sean Kelly, BigMat-Auber 93 Roubaix-Lille Métropole, La Pomme Marseille and Veranda Rideau-U.

Itineraries/Schedule Rides

Below is an overview of the steps during the 43rd Edition of the Etoile de Bessèges held:


The competition is organised by the UCI category 2.1.

Previous edition

In 2011 Besseges Star was won by Frenchman Anthony Ravard of AG2R-La Mondiale. Dutchman Johnny Hoogerland was then third in the final standings.

Cycling Calendar

Here you will find an overview of the most important cycling events held in 2012.


This product is part of the Special on 2012 cycling season.